Krishna Kaur gifted Sat Nam Fest blog with her wholehearted enthusiasm for the 21 Stages of Meditation course that she will lead with Nirvair Singh at Sat Nam Fest this April.

What is a central purpose of the 21 Stages of Meditation Course?

Krishna Kaur:

Years ago, Yogi Bhajan taught us that we are here to experience our resilience. How did he teach us that? He offered us technique after technique. He did not spend time on describing the purpose or reason for the meditations. He consciously chose not to appease our already over-stimulated intellects. Instead, he taught us one meditation then the next to engage our intelligence. Yogi Bhajan gave us experience after experience. The 21 Stages of Meditation course is an experiential journey.  One purpose is to experience your resilience.

What is the benefit of holding this course at Sat Nam Fest?


The fact that it is taking place at Sat Nam Fest will enhance the course’s powerful benefits.  Over the years, it has been fascinating to watch the ways Sat Nam Fest itself has gone through a fascinating journey. Nowadays, it is really opening up and expanding to offer everybody such a variety of ways to engage the treasure trove of teachings of Yogi Bhajan. The unique way that Sat Nam Fest feels so welcome to All is remarkable to behold. Likewise, the 21 Stages of Meditation is a course that anyone can enroll in for all three journeys or just one journey. Whichever way one chooses to experience it, the journey will be more fruitful if the student has some prior exposure to breathing, meditation, and mantras.  Sat Nam Fest West is the ideal atmosphere for experiencing the 21 Stages of Meditation with the healthy food, a high-vibrating Sangat (community), and music that brings the Sacred Sound Current right into the heart.

How should someone prepare for the 21 Stages of Meditation course?


Before arriving at the festival for the 21 Stages course, take a couple of Kundalini Yoga classes. Visit Spirit Voyage’s Mantrapedia. Watch some film footage from previous Sat Nam festivals.

Why 21 Stages?


This is an experience that takes you through a particular journey that an experienced generation of Yogi Bhajan students agreed upon as an effective process that helps a yogi receive the highest benefit from this technology and use it most efficiently.  Each stage has an aspect of consciousness that receives focus.  For instance, the first step is upset.  This is not referring to the upset that we typically think of as upset. This is not about being emotionally upset about something or at someone. This is the upset that happens on the deep levels within, on the subtle realms of being. Things may happen to us in life, and on the surface we seem fine. Everything is fine on some level, but in the subtle realms we feel unsettled.

This is about the subtle aspects of ourselves, seeing to it that the 10 bodies, the chakras, and the mental layers of being all align. We consciously engage our energy.  At the boredom stage, we may learn to call on tools to help us stay alert so as to engage and shift the boredom. The various stages reveal internal ways we can remain engaged with life when we’re not in alignment, engage, and consciously restore alignment. It’s an exploration of internal, subtle mechanisms. Outside might be fine, but inside we are not still. We experience this whenever we ask this question in life, “Something feels missing or not quite right. How can I fill this hole in my life?”

What can someone who has lots of meditation experience gain from this course?


We may have lots of experience with yoga and meditation practice, yet there is still a very subtle realm of ourselves that is unsettled, that needs attention, that needs to become still.  This course addresses that.  For instance, lots of people experience boredom and frustration when meditating. Yogi Bhajan said, “You can never get bored as long as you’re engaged.” This course will keep you engaged with your own inner mechanisms. You will grow intrigued by the inner miracle that is your consciousness.

What will be a memorable takeaway to bring back home? 


A great take away is the book 21 Stages of Meditaiton that will support the student to master these stages.

You may have successfully completed yoga teacher training; or, maybe you have gathered all varieties of certificates; you may even have a healthy following of students; but, the real journey is always internal. 21 Stages of Meditation can help you continue to expand yourself into the deepest enhancements and refinements of human consciousness. This course provides you with a clear understanding of where you are so that you can continue to self-initiate on your spiritual journey in ways that serve you best. You will always find a way to engage your deepest internal being and continually engage with enthusiasm; you’ll be able to say, “I am ready for the next step. Bring it on!”

Sat Nam Fest at Joshua Tree will be a fine cradle in which you can feel lovingly held on this journey.  Your presence in the course and at the festival can really make a difference in expanding meditation to excel its benefits to your beloved ones and daily community.  Sat Naam!

Read more from Nirvair Singh here!